Information For Veterans

Quick Links

Veterans Lounge

West Campus
Room W120

Welcome Veterans!

It’s with great pleasure that I welcome you back from your service and congratulate you on wanting to begin or continuing your education at Norwalk Community College. This webpage will serve as a direct resource for your educational needs.

Mission Statement

Norwalk Community College is dedicated to help guide the transition from service member, to student veteran to employed graduate as seamless as possible.The Norwalk Community College Veterans Committee will assist veterans reach their academic, career and personal goals.

Vision Statement

Norwalk Community College is committed to improving the resources available for our student veterans on campus by fostering an encouraging environment to strengthen institutional and individual goals.

Online Resources

Veterans Crisis Line Logo

The Veterans Crisis Line connects Veterans, their families, and friends with qualified, caring Department of Veterans Affairs responders. Support for deaf and hard of hearing individuals is available. To receive confidential support 24/7/365, veterans or loved ones can:

Call 800.273.8255 / Press 1
Text 838255
Chat online

Veterans and Reservists Requirements for Educational Benefits

Veterans and students eligible for VA educational benefits must complete NCCs application procedures for degree or certificate students. In addition, they must contact the Veterans Certifying Official, Chris DeCew, in the Records Office at (203) 857-7006 to apply for educational and/or tuition waiver benefits.

NCC Contacts Regarding Services for Veterans

Veterans' Support

Academic Advising, Life Planning, Transitional Counseling

Cathy Miller

Director of Counseling
203.857.3342
E104
cmiller@norwalk.edu

Wendy Mendes

Counselor
203.857.7121
E104
wmendes@norwalk.edu

Veterans' Educational Benefits

Chris DeCew

NCC Veterans Certifying Officer
Records Office
203.857.7006
E102
cdecew@norwalk.edu

NCC Veterans' Club

Barbara Cartsounis

Veterans’ Club Advisor
203.857.7302
W102
bcartsounis@norwalk.edu

Veterans' Career Planning Services

Resume, Interview, Job Search, Internships

Center for Career Development

203.857.6947
W118
careercenter@norwalk.edu

Academic Tutoring

Math, Science, and More

Tutoring Center

203.857.7205
W110
tutoringcenter@norwalk.edu

Transferring Military Credits

Chris DeCew

NCC Veterans Certifying Officer
Records Office
203.857.7006
E102
cdecew@norwalk.edu

Veterans Committee Members

NamePositionEmail
Calvin J. McFadden, Sr., Ph.DDean of Studentscmcfadden@norwalk.edu
Cheryl DeVonishCheif Diversity Officer & Special Advisor to the Presidentcdevonish@norwalk.edu
Cathy MillerDirector of Counseling, Counseling Officecmiller@norwalk.edu
Chris DeCewAssistant Registrar, Records Officecdecew@norwalk.edu
Wendy MendesCounselorwmendes@norwalk.edu
Barbara CartsounisContinuing Education Assistantbcartsounis@norwalk.edu